Skip to content

During its inaugural year, six 2021 Perpetual Pavement Awards (PPA): By Design were awarded to state departments of transportation (DOTs). These winning projects epitomize the long-life asphalt pavements that reflect the characteristics of a Perpetual Pavement design: excellence in design, quality in construction, and value to taxpayers. To learn more about the 2021 PPA: By Design winners, please click the projects below:


During the Arkansas Asphalt Pavement Association (AAPA) Quality Conference in January 2023, AAPA Executive Director Park Estes and AAPA Chairman Brad Marotti presented Highway Commission Chairman Alec Farmer, Highway Commissioner Marie Holder, ARDOT Director Lorie Tudor, ARDOT Chief Engineer Rex Vines, and Brandon Finn with Hutchens Construction with their first PPA: By Design. ARDOT also earned their 12th PPA: By Performance and first PPA: By Conversion. The latter was also accepted by Guy Washburn from Cranford Construction.
Pictured from left to right are Marotti, Farmer, Holder, Tudor, Vines, Wahsburn, Finn, and Estes.
Asphalt Paving Association of Iowa (APAI) Executive Vice President Scott A. Dockstader, P.E., presented Iowa DOT Chief Engineer Mitchell "Mitch" J. Dillavou Iowa DOT's first PPA: By Design on September 12, 2022, 
Pictured from left to right are Dockstader and Dillavou




On September 1, 2022, Dan Scherschligt, Kansas Asphalt Pavement Association Executive Director, presented Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) with their very first PPA: By Design. KDOT Secretary Julie Lorenz and KDOT Transportation Engineer Burt Morey proudly accepted the award for their work on US-281 in Russell County.
Pictured from left to right are Scherschligt, Lorenz, and Morey.
On November 18, 2022, the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) was presented with their 2nd PPA: By Design at WAPA's 68th Annual Meeting and 2022 Quality Paving Awards Banquet. WSDOT also earned their 2nd PPA: By Conversion and 8th PPA: By Performance. Accepting the award from WAPA Executive Director Dave Gent was WSDOT Secretary of Transportation Roger Millar. Also accepting from WSDOT were Assistant Regional Administrator-Southwest Region Devin Reck and State Pavement Design Engineer Karen Carlie. Accepting on behalf of Lakeside Industries was Michael Mercer, Randy Gartner, and Laura Nelson.
Pictured from left to right are Millar, Reck, Carlie, Mercer, Gartner, and Nelson.